Virginia State Laws for Substance Abuse Treatment
Virginia Rehab and Recovery Resources
Virginia Employee Rights
As Virginia residents, it’s important to understand Virginia employee rights. There are federal and state laws that protect employees seeking addiction treatment. There is protection offered under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). This act protectsemployees from being discriminated against in the workplace duringemployment. For an employee suffering from a physical or mental impairment that limits your day to day life, such as substance abuse, protection can be found under the ADA.
There are limitations to individualscovered under the ADA act. Should one be found using drugs or alcohol on the job, or found impaired while working, employees have the right to protect themselves and other employees.
Virginia Drug Statistics
According to Virginia drug addiction statistics, the amount of drug-related deaths within Virginia has risen drastically in recent years. This is due in part to opioid abuse. In 2016 there were more than 1,130 opioid-related deaths within the state. This indicates a rate of 13.5 deaths per 100,000 persons as compared to the national rate of 13 deaths per 100,000 in 2010. The number of opioid-related deaths has increased from 45 per year in 2010 to a current rate of 450 in 2016 alone. This number, while shocking on its own, does not take into account synthetic opioid-related deaths, which has increased dramatically from 87 to 650 deaths during the same period of time. The increase in state-funded Virginia heroin rehab problems and state-funded Virginia opiate rehab centers is directly due to these deaths and growing abuse statistics.
Virginia Drug and Alcohol Addiction
Virginia is often referred to as the birthplace of the nation. It is one of the most beautiful states in our country and home to the Blue Ridge Mountains and Jamestown. What many do not realize is that Virginia is also home to an exploding number of residents struggling with substance abuse problems. The state is now also known for its opiate epidemic, as it has seen a marked increase of opiate-related deaths in recent years. Amid the opioid crisis, there is also a sobering amount of meth pouring into Virginia, which is why the demand for more rehab treatment facilities has increased.
Most Virginians seeking treatment have to attend private facilities because of the unavailability of state-funded treatment centers. This is due to both the fact that the current state-funded drug and alcohol rehab centers are at capacity and the swell in demand for substance abuse treatment beds. There are many individuals in Virginia seeking financially sponsored inpatient care, many more than can receive help.
Addiction Rates in Virginia
Drug and alcohol addiction rates have dramatically risen in the past 4 to 5 years. Substance abuse is a condition that continues to affect millions of people in our country. Addiction is a disease that affects people from all walks of life, which is often kept hidden from loved ones until it’s too late. Statistics from 2015 revealed that more 6 percent of Virginians suffer from alcoholism, most of whom are young adults between the ages of 18 and 25. While 6 percent may seem like a low number, consider the fact that there are nearly 9 million people who live in Virginia.
This figure would indicate that more 560,000 suffer from alcoholism within the state. The rates of illicit drug abuse among those abusing alcohol are almost 30 percent. Alcohol abuse is a common problem amongst Virginian youth and more than 11 percent admit to having used alcohol before they reached their 21st birthdays. Virginia drug statistics have shown that of the approximately 160,000 Virginians who attend rehab annually, merely 22,000 attend state-funded Virginia rehab centers.
Virginia Drug Laws
The state of Virginia has some of the harshest drug laws in the country, which are there to protect its residents from the dangers that come along with selling and using illicit drugs. The penalties for violating these laws are often severe and come with a lengthy sentence. Virginia also has a number of programs and state-funded Virginia addiction programs designed to help residents struggling with addiction, which include:
- State-funded Virginia rehab centers
- State-funded Virginia Heroin Rehab Programs
- State-funded Virginia opiate rehab centers
- Methadone clinics, designed to help people opiate addiction.
- Statewide needle exchange designed to reduce the spread of HIV, Hep C, and other infectious diseases.
Virginia Heroin Laws
Heroin is classified as a schedule 1 drug under Virginia law and passion is considered a class 5 felony. Virginia’s has relatively harsh heroin laws, which can result in 12 months in jail and could carry a $2,500 fine. First-time offenders are often required to attend a state drug abatement program, which will provide them with treatment and instead of incarceration; offenders are placed under supervised probation.
In Virginia, you do not necessarily need to have heroin in your direct possession in order to be charged. If heroin is found in the defendant’s exclusive control, such as the back seat of his or her vehicle, the defendant will likely be charged with possession.
Heroin Sales and Distribution Laws
If you’re convicted of disturbing heroin, you could face between 5 to 40 years in prison and a fine up to $500,000; if the defendant can prove A) not for profit, B) not to an inmate, C) and without intending for the recipient to become addicted. If the defendant is charged with over 1 kg, they’ll face a mandatory 20 years to life in prison and a fine up to $1,000,000, but the sale to a minor or within the proximity of a school (1000 ft.) you’re likely to face stricter penalties.
Virginia Marijuana Laws
Although marijuana may be legal in 31 other states, purchasing, growing, and selling cannabis for all purposes is illegal in Virginia, and possession of even a small amount can result in a misdemeanor. In 2015 Governor Terry McAuliffe signed a bill, which legalized cannabidiol oil and THC oil for patients suffering from epilepsy.
Penalties for Marijuana Possession, Distribution, and Cultivation
The charges and penalties for Personal Possession are as follows:
- First Offense: If its first possession conviction, you’ll likely be charged with a misdemeanor, which comes with a punishment up to 30 days in jail and you could end up paying a $500 fine.
- Second Offense: You’ll be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor, which comes with a punishment of up to 12 months in jail and or a fine of up to $2,500
The charges and penalties for marijuana sale and distribution are as follows:
- If you’re charged with up to half an ounce of marijuana, it’s considered a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and you could end up paying a fine up to $2,500.
- If you’re charged with more than half an ounce, but less than 5lbs of marijuana, you’ll be charged with a Class 5 felony, which is punishable by 1 to 10 years in prison, but it all depends on the discretion of the judge or jury, which could be reduced to a Class 1 misdemeanor.
- If you’re charged with more than 5lbs, you’ll be facing a felony, which is punishable by 5 to 30 years in prison.
If you’re charged with possession with intent to cultivate marijuana, you’ll be charged with a felony, which comes with a 5 to 30-year prison sentence and you could be fined up to $10,000.
Limited Use of Medicinal Marijuana
Patients suffering from epilepsy can be prescribed CPD oil, but they must have a written certification from their doctor.
THE COASTLINE DIFFERENCE
Coastline Behavioral Health helps clients deal with the stronghold of addiction and behavioral health issues to develop healthier life skills to facilitate sobriety. Alcohol and drug addiction changes behavior in ways that are detrimental and we work in all areas of a client’s life including employment, personal relationships, finances, and health. Coastline Behavioral Health is set apart from the others in modality and treatment options, including the components of experiential therapy that have been developed by specialists in the addiction recovery field to meet individual client needs.
To find out more about our treatment program in Southern California, you can call to speak with a member of our admissions team. We are here to help you every step of the way.
Call to Speak with Coastline Today